# The 3 best AI meeting note takers (2026)

> Source: https://agentsindex.ai/categories/meeting-note-takers

Updated 1 November 2026 3 prices checked 29 October 2026 1 tool added in November Reviewed by the AgentsIndex editorial team

Sort

[How we check](https://agentsindex.ai/methodology)

3 tools

- [Fireflies.ai](https://agentsindex.ai/fireflies-ai) · Meeting recorder that turns conversations into automated follow through. · Free, then $18 a seat a month Checked 29 Oct · [Visit](https://agentsindex.ai/go/fireflies-ai)
  - MCP server
  - API
  - Open source
  - Self-host
- [Granola](https://agentsindex.ai/granola) · AI meeting notepad that captures device audio locally without sending a bot to calls. · Free, then $14 a seat a month Checked 29 Oct · [Visit](https://agentsindex.ai/go/granola)
  - MCP server
  - API
  - Open source
  - Self-host
- [Otter.ai](https://agentsindex.ai/otter-ai) · A meeting AI that captures calls without a bot and makes conversations searchable. · Free, then $16.99 a seat a month Checked 29 Oct · [Visit](https://agentsindex.ai/go/otter-ai)
  - MCP server
  - API
  - Open source
  - Self-host
- Know when AI meeting note takers change their prices · Price cuts, new plans and the AI tools we’ve just added.

Tools that record your calls and write the notes and action items for you. They differ most in how they record: a bot that joins the meeting, a desktop app, or a browser extension.

$14–$18 a month

First paid plans of the 3 tools here.

## What the 3 offer

Yes In part No or not listed

Each cell is one tool

- [Free to start](https://agentsindex.ai/categories/meeting-note-takers?filter=free#list) **3** of 3
- [MCP server](https://agentsindex.ai/categories/meeting-note-takers?filter=mcp-server#list) **3** of 3
- [API](https://agentsindex.ai/categories/meeting-note-takers?filter=api#list) **1** of 3 2 in part
- [Open source](https://agentsindex.ai/categories/meeting-note-takers?filter=open-source#list) **0** of 3
- [Self-host](https://agentsindex.ai/categories/meeting-note-takers?filter=self-host#list) **0** of 3

AI meeting note takers compared

Tool Starting price MCP server API Open source Self-host

[Fireflies.ai](https://agentsindex.ai/fireflies-ai)`+MCP +API?OPEN?SELF`

Free, then $18 a seat a month

- Yes: yes

- Yes: yes

- Not stated: not stated

- Not stated: not stated

[Granola](https://agentsindex.ai/granola)`+MCP ~API?OPEN?SELF`

Free, then $14 a seat a month

- Yes: yes

- Partly: partly

- Not stated: not stated

- Not stated: not stated

[Otter.ai](https://agentsindex.ai/otter-ai)`+MCP ~API?OPEN?SELF`

Free, then $16.99 a seat a month

- Yes: yes

- Partly: partly

- Not stated: not stated

- Not stated: not stated

**agentsindex.ai** · All 3 AI meeting note takers we list.

[How we check](https://agentsindex.ai/methodology)

All 3 tools here have a free plan, against 50% across the index. None is open source, against 23% across the index.

## About AI meeting note takers

### Can you use AI meeting note takers tools for free?

3 of the 3 have a free plan. All 3 publish a monthly price: the first paid plan runs from $14 to $18 a month.

### Are there any open-source AI meeting note takers tools?

None of the 3 listed here is open source.

### Which AI meeting note takers tools have an MCP server?

3 of the 3 have an MCP server: Fireflies.ai, Granola and Otter.ai.

## Sources and method

Tools rank higher the more we can confirm: a public price, an API and docs, sources, stated limits. [How we check](https://agentsindex.ai/methodology)

Prices are taken from each vendor's pricing page.

- [Fireflies.ai](https://agentsindex.ai/fireflies-ai): [fireflies.ai/pricing](https://fireflies.ai/pricing), checked 29 October 2026
- [Granola](https://agentsindex.ai/granola): [granola.ai/pricing](https://www.granola.ai/pricing), checked 29 October 2026
- [Otter.ai](https://agentsindex.ai/otter-ai): [otter.ai/pricing](https://otter.ai/pricing), checked 29 October 2026
