# Speechify — Voice assistant and reader that answers questions about the web page open in its Chrome sidebar.

> Source: AgentsIndex — https://agentsindex.ai/speechify (structured, researched, re-verified)

Speechify is a voice assistant and text-to-speech reader that turns web pages, documents, and books into spoken audio. Its Chrome sidebar answers questions about the current page, while voice typing turns speech into formatted text.

**Best for:** Readers, students, and professionals who want documents and web pages spoken aloud

**Look elsewhere if:**

- you need the full API on every plan
- you need a written uptime promise

| Fact | Value |
| --- | --- |
| Website | https://speechify.com/ |
| Category | AI voiceover and dubbing, Personal assistants |
| API | Partly |
| Open source | No |
| Price | Free |
| Price source | https://speechify.com/pricing/ |
| Price checked | 29 October 2026 |
| MCP server | Not stated |
| Self-host | Not stated |
| Facts | 13 facts from 7 sources |
| Facts checked | 29 October 2026 |

Screenshot of Speechify: https://agentsindex.ai/img/1920/screenshots/speechify.webp, captured 30 October 2026

**What we checked**

- Pages last read: 29 October 2026
- Facts checked: 13 facts (From 7 sources)

## Speechify combines a reader with a Chrome voice assistant

Speechify’s consumer product is centered on turning text into audio. Its home page says a PDF uploaded to the web app can be read aloud, summarized, or turned into a podcast, while its Chrome extension reads browser content, types from speech, and answers questions about what is being read. The voice assistant is not presented as a general workflow engine. The product page describes a sidebar that can answer questions, summarize, and explain the page already open in the browser. [The web app description](https://speechify.com/) and [Voice AI Assistant page](https://speechify.com/voice-ai/) put the product’s reader, dictation, and page-level question answering in the same consumer experience.

## The reader has a standing free plan and a monthly Premium option

The reader’s public plan page has a Free plan, not merely a timed trial. It lists listening up to 1.5x, ten robotic sounding voices, and text-to-speech features only. Premium adds natural voices, 60 or more languages, higher playback speed, Scan and Listen, summaries and chats, cloud-storage integrations, voice typing, podcasts, and the Voice AI Assistant. The pricing page was switched to yearly billing and then returned to monthly billing. It showed Premium at $139 per year under yearly billing and $29 per month under monthly billing. The page labels the annual choice “SAVE 60%.” [The plan cards](https://speechify.com/pricing/) are the source for the features and both published prices.

## Studio and the Voice API are separate product lines

Speechify’s pricing page links separately to Speechify Studio and Speechify API. Studio is a different subscription from the Text to Speech Reader. Its own FAQ describes the reader as an app that reads text aloud and Studio as the place to create voiceovers for content such as podcasts, videos, and audiobooks. Studio’s published plan cards start with a $0 plan that includes 600 Studio credits but excludes commercial usage rights. Its $100 per year Studio Starter plan includes commercial usage rights. The consumer terms also say that services other than Voice Over Studio are not intended for commercial use. See [Studio’s subscription distinction and plan cards](https://speechify.com/pricing-studio/) and [the consumer terms](https://speechify.com/terms/).

## The privacy policy permits deletion but retains some data

Speechify says users can delete their personal data by deleting the account from Settings. Paid subscribers must cancel before deleting the account. The same policy says the company may retain some personal data where reasonably necessary for legitimate business interests or legal obligations. For EEA, Swiss, and UK users, Speechify says a support request can produce a personal-data report in a structured, commonly used, portable format. The policy also states that submitted information is transferred to, processed in, and stored in the United States. These controls and qualifications are stated in the [Privacy Policy](https://speechify.com/privacy/).

## Enterprise statements are limited to the business voiceover offer

Speechify’s business voiceover page says its AI Voice Over Studio for Business is SOC 2 compliant and offers enterprise collaboration, commercial rights, onboarding, and support. That page presents a business-oriented studio offer and request-a-demo path. It does not establish the same security or team features for the consumer reader and Chrome assistant. Separately, the consumer terms state that Speechify cannot guarantee availability at all times. Premium voice usage is also constrained. The usage schedule states a 1,000,000-word monthly limit for Premium users during 2026 and says the count resets monthly. Review the [business voiceover page](https://speechify.com/voiceover-studio-contact/), [availability terms](https://speechify.com/terms/), and [usage limits schedule](https://speechify.com/usage-limits/) for those scoped claims.

## Speechify price and terms

**Terms**

- Free plan: Yes — Free includes listening up to 1.5x, 10 robotic sounding voices, and text-to-speech features only
- Sign up without sales: Yes

## For AI agents

- API: Partly

Pricing page as we captured it: https://agentsindex.ai/img/1920/screenshots/speechify/pricing.webp, captured 30 October 2026

Read on https://speechify.com/pricing/, 29 October 2026.

## What we checked on Speechify

### What it costs to start

**What the price counts** · Yes — The entry paid reader plan is a flat monthly subscription, with annual billing also offered.

> $29 /Month or $139 billed yearly
> — https://speechify.com/pricing/ · Speechify Pricing, Premium plan card, checked 29 October 2026

**Free tier** · Yes — A standing free plan gives 600 Studio credits with the full voice library, voiceover, dubbing and voice changer, and the vendor says it lasts as long as you want.

> As long as you want and it has full functionality.
> — https://speechify.com/pricing-studio/ · FAQ, 'How long can I use the free plan for?', checked 27 October 2026

**Self-serve signup** · Yes — Both paid Studio plans are bought online through a Select Plan button that leads straight to onboarding and checkout; sales contact is offered only for enterprise pricing.

> Select Plan
> — https://speechify.com/pricing-studio/ · Plan cards, Studio Starter purchase button, checked 27 October 2026

**Contract** · Partly — Both paid Studio plans are quoted and sold by the year with no month-to-month option on the page, and cancellation is not described there.

> $100 /Year
> — https://speechify.com/pricing-studio/ · Plan cards, Studio Starter price cell, checked 27 October 2026

**Cancel any time** · Yes — Consumers can cancel at any time in the applicable account settings, retaining access through the paid term.

> YOU MAY CANCEL YOUR SUBSCRIPTION AT ANY TIME
> — https://speechify.com/terms/ · Terms of Service, section 2.3 Cancelling as a consumer, checked 29 October 2026

### What it works with

**Works with** · Yes — Premium names Google Drive, Dropbox, and Microsoft OneDrive integrations for bringing in reader content.

> Google Drive, Dropbox, Microsoft OneDrive Integrations
> — https://speechify.com/pricing/ · Speechify Pricing, Premium plan feature list, checked 29 October 2026

**Languages** · Yes — The Voice AI Assistant says it understands over 60 languages and accents, including major European and Asian languages.

> Voice AI Assistant understands over 60 languages and accents
> — https://speechify.com/voice-ai/ · Voice AI Assistant page, Speak in 60+ Languages section, checked 29 October 2026

**Public API** · Partly — Studio itself exposes no API; Speechify sells a separate text-to-speech API product with its own plans, so programmatic speech means buying that line as well.

> Choose the plan that fits the traffic. Monthly usage is included.
> — https://speechify.com/pricing-api/ · Speechify API pricing page, plan selector, checked 27 October 2026

### What it does on its own

**No code needed** · Yes — Speechify describes installing an app or browser extension and pressing Play after minor configuration, without coding.

> After minor configurations, all you have to do is press “Play”.
> — https://speechify.com/pricing/ · Speechify Pricing FAQ, How do I turn text into speech?, checked 29 October 2026

### What happens to your data

**Retention you control** · Partly — Users can delete an account and request removal, though Speechify may retain some data for legitimate business and legal reasons.

> we may keep some of your Personal Data for as long as reasonably necessary
> — https://speechify.com/privacy/ · Privacy Policy, How long is Personal Data retained?, checked 29 October 2026

**Take your data out** · Yes — EEA, Swiss, and UK users can request a structured, commonly used, portable personal data report from support.

> structured, commonly used, and portable format
> — https://speechify.com/privacy/ · Privacy Policy, EEA, Swiss, and UK users, rights to request a Personal Data report, checked 29 October 2026

### Whether a company can buy it

**Security audits** · Yes — Speechify names SOC 2 compliance for its business Voice Over Studio offering, not as a consumer-reader-wide claim.

> Speechify is SOC 2 compliant
> — https://speechify.com/voiceover-studio-contact/ · AI Voice Over Studio for Business page, Enterprise-grade Security section, checked 29 October 2026

**Uptime promise** · No — The consumer terms explicitly say Speechify cannot guarantee availability at all times, rather than promising a published uptime level.

> we cannot guarantee that the Services will be available at all times
> — https://speechify.com/terms/ · Terms of Service, section 6.1 Availability of Services, checked 29 October 2026

## Speechify alternatives

- [Claude](https://agentsindex.ai/claude) · Free plan, then $20 a month: Anthropic's Claude assistant: chat, files, code and connected apps on web, desktop and mobile.
- [AGI, Inc.](https://agentsindex.ai/multion) · Price on request: Cloud MCP server that lets Claude, ChatGPT or Cursor drive a real Android phone through accessibility APIs.
- [Reclaim](https://agentsindex.ai/reclaim-ai) · Free plan, then $12 a seat a month: AI calendar that automatically schedules tasks, routines, and meetings around changing priorities.
- [Lindy](https://agentsindex.ai/lindy-ai) · From $49.99 a seat a month: A shared AI teammate that runs recurring work across connected business tools.
- [superbot](https://agentsindex.ai/superbot) · Free plan: A personal AI agent that operates your computer and runs recurring tasks across your devices.
- [Motion](https://agentsindex.ai/motion) · From $29 a seat a month: AI work planner that schedules tasks, projects, meetings, and calendars.
- [ChatGPT](https://agentsindex.ai/chatgpt) · From $8 a month: OpenAI's conversational AI app for working with information and connected services.
- [Google Gemini](https://agentsindex.ai/google-gemini) · Free plan, then $4.99 a month: Google's personal AI assistant with connected apps and higher-tier task automation.

## Questions about Speechify

### How much does Speechify cost?

Speechify is free to use. From speechify.com/pricing, checked 29 October 2026.

### Does Speechify have an API or an MCP server?

It has a limited API.

### What have we checked on Speechify?

13 facts, under these headings: What it costs to start, what it works with, what it does on its own, what happens to your data, whether a company can buy it.

### How do we check Speechify?

We hold 13 facts on Speechify, quoted from 7 pages. Facts and price last checked 29 October 2026.

How we check every listing: https://agentsindex.ai/methodology/

## Sources and changes

Last changed 30 October 2026

**Sources on speechify.com** (7)

- https://speechify.com/pricing/, read 29 October 2026
- https://speechify.com/pricing-studio/, read 27 October 2026
- https://speechify.com/terms/, read 29 October 2026
- https://speechify.com/privacy/, read 29 October 2026
- https://speechify.com/voiceover-studio-contact/, read 29 October 2026
- https://speechify.com/pricing-api/, read 27 October 2026
- https://speechify.com/voice-ai/, read 29 October 2026

## Is this yours?

AI assistants like ChatGPT, Claude and Perplexity opened AgentsIndex pages 1,237 times from 17 October to 31 October. Claim Speechify: https://agentsindex.ai/claim/speechify

Report an error if a fact is wrong: hello@agentsindex.ai, subject "Report an error: Speechify (speechify)".
